17th Willem C. Vis Moot (2010) Results Update – And it’s down to…


The Final Panel is comprised of the following:

  1. Prof. Doug Jones, Chair, Partner in Clayton Utz, Sydney – This year’s chairman is one of the leading arbitrators in the Asia-Pacific region. He is a Sydney-based partner in the Australian law firm of Clayton Utz where he heads the International Arbitration and Major Projects Group of the firm. He is the President of the ACICA (Australian Center for International Commercial Arbitration), whose arbitration rules govern the 2010 moot. Prof. Jones is a door tenant at the Atkins Chambers, London. His experience includes acting as Arbitrator and Counsel in major international arbitrations, and advising on major projects in areas of buildings, road and rail infrastructure, power, potable and waste water, mining infrastructure and processing, and on and offshore oil and gas. He is currently Vice President of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London (President Elect 2011), a foundation fellow and graded arbitrator of Arbitration & Mediators Australia, President, Dispute Review Board Foundation Australia and a member of a number of panels of international arbitral bodies.
  2. Dominique Brown-Berset, Partner in Brown&Page, Geneva – Ms. Brown-Berset is a founding partner of Brown&PAge, a specialist firm focusing on dispute resolution, international law and contract & corporate law. She holds law degrees from Lausanne University Law School, Paris; Pantheon-Sorbonne and Harvard Law School. She is listed on the panel of arbitrators of the Singapore International Arbitration Center (2009), the Japan Commercial Arbitration Association (2008) and Hong Kong International Arbitration Center (2007). She is a former chair of the arbitration committee of the International Bar Association (2004-2005) and a former international vice president of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (1996-2004). Ms. Brown-Berset has been acting as counsel, co-counsel or arbitrator in over 142 international arbitration cases around the world.
  3. Neil Kaplan, CBE, QC, SBS – Neil Kaplan was Chairman of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Center from 1991 until 2004 and was President of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators from 1999 until 2000. Mr. Kaplan is a full-time practicing arbitrator with Chambers in both England and Hong Kong. Until the end of 1994, he was a judge of the Supreme Court of Hong Kong, and thereafter was the Convenor of the Dispute Review Group for Hong Kong’s new airport. Mr. Kaplan was the Chairman of Hong Kong’s WTO Review Body on Bid Challenges from 2000-2004 and is currently Chairman of Hong Kong’s Telecommunications (Competition Provision) Appeal Board. Mr. Kaplan is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and is a Chartered Arbitrator as well as a panelist of several other arbitral institutions. He has conducted arbitrations in at least 15 different jurisdictions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: